Attack of the wellies

It’s been raining solidly for four days here. It’s nothing compared with what Britain’s going through right now; we know that. What’s fascinating about rain here, though, is that at the first sight of a raindrop, people start wearing wellington boots (well, strictly speaking, they’re wearing rain boots, rubber boots or gumboots, after translation). On a wet day, wellies are everywhere. It seems over the top when there aren’t even any puddles, but I’m beginning to think it makes sense.

How many times in Britain did I get wet trousers from walking in the rain? How many times did I walk through so many puddles that my socks became wet? How many pairs of shoes did I ruin with water damage?

The trouble is, if people in Britain started wearing wellies at the first sight of rain, they’d never have need for any other shoes.

Screen shot 2014-02-10 at 11.30.00

About Natalie Gotts

I've been a management consultant, a nutritional therapist, a Journey practitioner and a mother. I've sold ostriches in China and personal safety devices in Hong Kong. Whatever I've done, and wherever I've been, I've written about it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Attack of the wellies

  1. Pingback: The difference between British and American wellies | Family Gotts USA Adventure

Leave a Reply

