The downside of sunny days

It’s really hot and sunny in California at the moment. Max has just had his first warm birthday and we go hiking in shorts and T-shirts. It’s invigorating and revitalizing and happifying, and provides a good dose of vitamin D too.

Normally, by this time of year I would have virtually finished all my Christmas shopping (as well as Christmas, almost every member of the family has a birthday in December too, so it’s an operation that requires planning and discipline; it’s not a task that can be left to the last minute). However, this year I’ve done nothing yet. I blame the sunshine.

Gabriella’s most recent song also frames the warm weather in a different way; it’s about missing her two best friends in Britain and how much she’s looking forward to seeing them when we go back for Christmas. There’s a stanza in the song that says:

“And now I’m counting down the days till Christmas, But it feels like forever away, ‘Cuz I’m only seeing sunny days And I’m wondering if I’ll ever get to see you”.

Luckily, some rain is scheduled for the coming week.

Enjoying the sunshine in the garden

Ian enjoying the sunshine in the garden

About Natalie Gotts

I've been a management consultant, a nutritional therapist, a Journey practitioner and a mother. I've sold ostriches in China and personal safety devices in Hong Kong. Whatever I've done, and wherever I've been, I've written about it.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

